Moving to Northern Virginia and have some questions!

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by teach4thgrade, Jan 27, 2014.

1. teach4thgrade

teach4thgrade Rookie

Jan 27, 2014

Hello everyone!

:help:

A little background:
    I'm currently in my 3rd year of teaching. My first 2 years were in 4th grade ELA/Sci/SS and this year I moved down to 3rd grade, all subjects. I currently work in a Title 1 TAP school. The students at the school are 84% minority and 94% free or reduced lunch. I've had some major successes in my current and last year with student growth.

Recently, my friend was hired for a job in northern Northern Virginia and since I've never lived outside of my home state, I decided that this would be a wonderful opportunity to spread my wings and try something new.

However, I'm a little lost on applying to jobs in the NOVA area. I want to stick with the Fairfax County area (as it seems this is where my friend will be based), possibly Falls Church or Alexandria could be an option. I have started the process of getting my VA teacher's license. Working through the CPR class right now! I have a few questions/concerns though.

1. I've heard that FCPS does fast hires through HR. This would be the best bet for me as my friend will be moving around June (school let's out here at the end of May) and having a job for me would allow us to apt hunt. Currently, I have 2 possible dates to go up there for an interview with HR. #1 is during my Mardi Gras break (around March 3) and #2 is during my Spring break (around April 20). Which would be the best time frame to work with?

2. This year, LA has begun implementing CC. Is Virginia a CC state? If not, what are some of the curriculums teachers are using?

3. If anyone has been through the HR interview recently, can you please let me know of any important details I may need to know (I am TERRIBLE at interviews and need all the help I can get!).