Moving to Minnesota and have job questions

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by zoerba, Mar 12, 2012.

1. zoerba

zoerba Comrade

Mar 12, 2012

Hi! DH and I are planning on moving to Minnesota within a year or two. I know this is a little premature, but we are trying to plan early, lol.

I'm currently a 3rd grade teacher in Alaska with 6 years of experience and have just about finished my Masters in educational technology.

I am highly qualifed and have passed the Praxis 1 and 2. With that being said, I know I have to take Minnesota's specific basic skills and pedagogy tests.

I am confused as to where to begin and how to plan for this move. We will have to sell our house to move, but I don't want to move until I have a job - yet I hear the market is TIGHT. Do I have much chance being an out of state applicant? If I'm lucky enough to get interviewed it will have to be over the phone. Where would I go online to find job openings?

Also, I am curious as to the salary and how many years of my teaching will transfer over. Housing seems cheaper there than here (depending on the area) but I still have hefty student loans to pay, lol.

So, any advice you can give me would be appreciated! I just don't know where to start or what to do. I am so scared about moving, finding a job, etc.

I apologize for this post being so vague! DH and I are driving to MN this summer to visit DH's family, but also to look around the different towns/cities. We are from what would be considered a rural area, so smaller towns don't scare us.

I keep telling DH that if I get hired, we'll move to wherever I get hired at because jobs aren't easy to come by! LOL!

3. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Mar 12, 2012

This page (http://education.state.mn.us/MDE/EdExc/Licen/AppOutStateCountry/index.html) makes me wonder whether you might have fewer hoops to jump through than you think.