Moving Grade Levels

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by TXowl, Feb 10, 2014.

1. TXowl

TXowl Companion

Feb 10, 2014

I'm currently teaching 6th and 8th grade at a junior high. This is my first year at the junior high level, and I hate it! I moved up because I thought I needed some secondary experience to get a high school job, but I remembered why I went elementary in the first place. I've been helping our resource teacher plan math and reading lessons for her kids (who range from 1st to 4th grade reading levels) and love it. I have taught 3rd, 4th, and 5th before making the move to junior high. I student taught in 1st and 3rd and at the time preferred 3rd.

My question is do you think principals will even consider me for primary k-2 positions? I'm certified EC-4 generalist, 4-8 generalist, and 8-12 social studies. I always thought I wanted to teach high school history and government, but after the last few years, I've fallen in love with teaching reading/literacy. I'd like to try for 1st and 2nd grade jobs, but I'm worried that with the testing culture I have been pigeon-holed as a "testing grade" teacher. What do you think? Anyone in Texas who has some experience with this? I've heard 2nd grade is really hard to get because of the lack of testing.

3. Luv2TeachInTX

Luv2TeachInTX Comrade

Feb 11, 2014

It sounds like you like resource. Maybe try getting your special ed cert?

4. ayla

ayla Companion

Feb 12, 2014

I just moved from elementary to high school... Middle school was my student teaching and it was just depressing. I like high school more because the kids are more independent. I found I don't really care what content I teach. Eventually I will likely be put into the remedial math position at my high school because of my strong background with lower level math. I would like that. I agree you would probably like remedial positions because the kids are older but the content is younger.