Moving from 5th to 2nd

Discussion in 'Second Grade' started by Teacher Chele, Apr 24, 2010.

1. Teacher Chele

Teacher Chele Habitué

Apr 24, 2010

My principal is talking about putting me in 2nd next year. I've been teaching 4th and 5th for the last five years and taught younger grades for ten years before that, but I've never taught 2nd. I'm excited, but I want to get started now planning and making/getting things for next year. I feel like a new teacher just starting out. Please share your ideas for centers, routines, record keeping, communication with parents, and anything else I need to be thinking about. Thanks y'all!!!

3. mrs100

mrs100 Comrade

May 2, 2010

I moved from 5th to 2nd a few years ago and was pretty nervous about it, but I love it! Instead of doing centers, I highly recommend using the Daily 5 by the Two Sisters. It will make your life easier, and the kids really love it. Be prepared to work with them a lot on building stamina to work independently the first few weeks. You'll also need some kind of book bins or book bags for their independent reading books. An electric pencil sharpener is a good idea too, because they have a hard time using the ones on the wall.

4. Teacher Chele

Teacher Chele Habitué

May 2, 2010

Great ideas - Thanks, Mrs. 100!!!! I borrowed The Daily Five from a friend and plan to start reading it this week.

5. mrs100

mrs100 Comrade

May 3, 2010

They also have a book called CAFE that goes along with it really well. Here's their website:
    http://www.the2sisters.com/
    Hope you like it!

6. Irma

Irma Companion

May 28, 2010

I've found in my school second grade his a very transitional year. We move them from being dependent to very indepedent learners- it's an exciting time. By the end of the year I feel so proud of my students I have a hard time letting go! I keep the teaching active and fun.

7. Forever Learnin

Forever Learnin New Member

May 30, 2010