Moving child up early???

Discussion in 'Montessori Archives' started by alex13, Sep 22, 2006.

1. alex13

alex13 New Member

Sep 22, 2006

I am a Montessori Teacher for the 3-6 yr olds. I have some issues. 1. I have a child that is very advanced in my class. He is 4.5 yrs old will turn 5 in Nov. but is already working on a 2nd grade phonics workbook, reads at that level. And he can do addition without the bank or golden beads. I have tried to teach him math this way but he is just not getting it. I am wondering if this child needs to be place up on int the 1-4th grade class. He is just playing around in my room and he lowers his emotional and maturity level to the kids in the classroom. Has any other teachers moved a child so young up early and it worked out?

2.This child I'm talking about is also my son. Because of this his behavior in my classroom is not acceptable. He tells me NO, kicks me, hits me. This behavior just started when I took over his classroom this year as the new teacher. So, I'm also thinking his behavior would be better if he moves up. There is no other 3-6 yr old classroom in our school.

3. I am also not too sure if the 1-4th grade teacher wants my son in her room. She just says that they tried it with a Kindergartener last year and it didn't work out. And she is avoiding me when I try to talk to her about my son. Any suggestions?

As a Mother I would have pulled my son out of school already but being a teacher at the school I feel like I should atleast try to accomodate my son there.

any advice is welcomed!

3. stacy

stacy New Member

Sep 22, 2006