Move from Elm to Middle School?

Discussion in 'Middle School / Junior High' started by MWMnElmed, Sep 27, 2007.

1. MWMnElmed

MWMnElmed Companion

Sep 27, 2007

I currently teach fourth grade. I enjoy the students, but the multiple preps and never ending meetings with the various departments is getting old. I was wondering if anyone out there has moved from elem to middle school and how they liked it. My degree is in secondary ed, so I am used to the attitude when they get older. Please let me know your thoughts and how you like teaching at the middle school jr high level.

3. Beth2004

Beth2004 Maven

Sep 27, 2007

All of my experience was elementary until this year I moved to 5th grade in a middle school. I like my job, but if you want to move to a middle school to get away from all of the meetings, etc, it's probably not the best move. Of my 96 students, 25 of them are on some kind of plan so in four weeks of school we've already had 4 IEP meetings and one 504. We've also met with Title 1 staff every week to go over the students getting services and the students who are being monitored for possibly needing services. Because of having so many students, I've sat in more meetings regarding student services since school started than I did the entire school year last year and during my 6 months of long-term subbing the year before.

4. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

Sep 27, 2007

I'm interested in responses to this thread as well. I have taught at the elementary level and got my 4-8 certification in Feb. I'm not too worried about meetings, just the overall thoughts.

5. Beth2004

Beth2004 Maven

Sep 27, 2007

Ok, well here's my :2cents: about being at the middle school in general: