Morning Meeting

Discussion in 'Kindergarten' started by ampete, Jun 27, 2011.

1. ampete

ampete Rookie

Jun 27, 2011

I am a new Kindergarten teacher and have been researching ideas online. What does everyone do for morning meeting for Kindergarten, especially the first few weeks of school when they aren't used to the routine yet?

3. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Jun 27, 2011

Establish a routine! Calendar, weather, daily message...

4. TeacherC

TeacherC Connoisseur

Jun 27, 2011

Morning meeting... calendar, counting, weather, coins. At the beginning of the year we identify colors, later add letters, then high frequency and decodable words. We don't have a daily message, but it is something I would like to incorporate. It is VERY slow at the beginning of the year, but gets quicker as the kids get used to it. Sometimes I cut things out the first few weeks of school if they are getting antsy and can't sit for 10 minutes yet.

5. mrachelle87

mrachelle87 Fanatic

Jun 27, 2011

Mine is on the smartboard. I didn't have room for a calendar area this year.

6. mopar

mopar Multitudinous

Jun 28, 2011

We also included a part about the day of school. For the first day we used 1 and would write, draw, make one. Each day added one then we knew when it was the 100th day.

We also used something called a word muncher. Basically it's a decorated garbage can that students can put things in. We had a letter and students brought words that start with that letter to put in the word muncher.

7. DrivingPigeon

DrivingPigeon Phenom

Jun 28, 2011

Are you talking about Morning Meeting or calendar time? Most of the replies seem related to calendar time. If you have questions about Morning Meeting I can help you out, because I used Responsive Classroom and Morning Meeting Routine in my K classroom.

Just let me know, and I can tell you how I got the kids used to the routine of Morning Meeting. :)

8. ampete

ampete Rookie

Jun 28, 2011