More Alternative School Stuff

Discussion in 'Secondary Education Archives' started by Caveman, Apr 18, 2005.

1. Caveman

Caveman Rookie

Apr 18, 2005

OK as you all probably know, I'm retiring from the Air Force to pursue a teaching degree. Alternative certifcation will be required as my degree is a BS in Liberal Studies (looks alot like a dual major English and Sociology on paper). In my quest for a job I seem to be mobbed by charter schools/dropout prevention programs. I sent a resume' to a school in New Port Richey on Friday and I talked to the principal today and he said he would probably do a phone interview in a week or two and decide from there. I won't be physically in Florida until the first week of June. I'm real tickled at the response but kinda suspicious at the same time. Have any of you guys ever phone interviewed for a teaching gig? Can anyone give me some caveats about why this might seem so easy or why he might be in such a hurry to hire me? I mean, I'm a great guy, an exemplary citizen and academic performer (not to mention stunningly handsome and horribly modest :D)but this type of school's eagerness to hire me has me rather perplexed. Are they looking for hired military muscle? A bat man? If so, can do easy but my mom always told me that if it seems too good to be true it probably is.
    While I certainly don't mind teaching these kinds of students because more than most they really need to see the light and see it quick, I'm wondering why they are so anxious to hire me. The "regular" schools in the area have not really come out with their vacancies for next year yet and before I really say yes to teaching "At Risk" kids I think I'd really rather see if I can get a job teaching an honors English class instead. If I do end up teaching at risk kids, does anyone know if Level 3 body armor is tax deductible :D

3. Fawn Lori

Fawn Lori Rookie

Apr 18, 2005