Montessori Links

Discussion in 'Montessori Archives' started by Yenna, Jul 2, 2006.

1. Yenna

Yenna Companion

Jul 2, 2006

Hi all!
    This is a thread for sharing links and sources for information about Montessori.
    I have training from AMI. I have 8 years experience in Children's House. I thought I would post this for people who are looking to find information about Montessori. If other Directresses have links, please add. The best inspiration and understanding comes from reading Dr. M's own writing.
    The Discovery of the Child
    The Secret of Childhood
    The Absorbent Mind
    The Montessori Method
    Dr. Montessori's Own Handbook
    Also, here are some books about Montessori:
    Montessori from the Start by Paula Polk Lillard (infants, toddlers)
    Maria Montessori: The Science Behind the Genius by Angeline Stoll Lillard
    A Parent's Guide to the Montessori Classroom by Aline Wolf
    Rita Kramer's biography of Dr. Montessori

Here are some sites:
    Association Montessori International: http://www.montessori-ami.org/
    North American Montessori Teacher's Association: http://www.montessori-namta.org/NAMTA/index.html
    Michael Olaf Montessori Support Materials: http://www.michaelolaf.com/
    Nienhuis Approved Montessori Materials:http://www.nienhuis.com/index2.html
    A list of other sites: http://www.our-montessori.com/materials.html
    Parent Child Press http://parentchildpress.com/
    Excellent books for the new reader: the Cosmic Wonder Series, the Thoughtful Living Series and the Sense of Wonder Series are seriously beautiful. The "Pledge to the Earth" inspired our class to say it each day as a blessing at lunch. Also books for Peace Advocacy, for Parent Guidance and a Wonderful Art Appreciation series.

3. Yenna

Yenna Companion

Jul 3, 2006

Here is another great link, for articles and lots of information about the theory: http://www.montessorimom.com/?Welcome