montessori day schedule

Discussion in 'Montessori' started by crayonkid, Jan 21, 2009.

1. crayonkid

crayonkid Rookie

Jan 21, 2009

im a new teacher and i am currently running my own kindy and daycare center.

i hav 9 children from d ages 3- 6.

i am montessori qualified but im having trouble with my classroom management. i have quite a number of materials.

how is a day at a montessori school like?

what is the timetable like?

does one go by a thematic approach or should all learning b that what comes from using d materials?

also of my 9, 4 are new, just 3 wks in, whereas d others hav been with me for a year. should i seperate them or group them all together?

if i group them all together, how does it work?

3. tracykaliski

tracykaliski Connoisseur

Jan 21, 2009

I think it's absolutely necessary for the children to be together. The younger children learn from the older children, and it's just part of the Montessori Philosophy. I think you'd be doing a disservice to the families you serve if you separated the children.

Our school is full day. Here's our schedule:

7:30 school opens,
    8:30 all children should be at school by now.
    10:15-ish we have our morning meeting.
    10:30 outside
    11:45 we have what we call a "lunch meeting". Basically it's a transitional meeting where we get all 52 kids inside. We sing songs, read stories, play games, etc., then excuse to wash hands before lunch.
    12:05 lunch starts
    12:45 lunch is finished.
    Children who nap go to the naproom, all other children go back outside again.
    1:00 some children go home (that's our 1/2 day program)
    1:25 the kindergarten children have an enrichment meeting in the afternoons with different teachers.
    Mondays we do academic things
    Tuesdays they study dance and art appreciation
    Wednesdays they study physical and cultural geography. Lots of crafts and making different foods.
    Thursdays they study botany and zoology.
    Fridays they do physical science.