Montessori classroom

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by PeggyL, Sep 14, 2012.

1. PeggyL

PeggyL New Member

Sep 14, 2012

I've just taken over a Montessori classroom with 19 children. I'm newly qualified so not much teaching experience but I was a mature student so I've 24 years experience of children (5 of my own!). I'm Montessori thru and thru and my problem is my new class seem to have had a very loose Montessori experience up to now. My problem is none of the children seem able to concentrate well and all head for basic practical life or simple sensorial. How do I (quickly) get to a point where the (few) older/more able might be encouraged to work on more advanced stuff and how can I encourage a bit more concentration in the rest? I've lots more questions for anyone interested in chatting to help me please!!

3. MissFroggy

MissFroggy Aficionado

Sep 15, 2012

I think you need to establish rules no matter if it is a Montessori classroom or not. (I've taught Montessori but spent the last 10 years in a progressive school.)

1) Use your morning circle time to establish clear rules. Talk about the volume in the room, and how you treat materials.

2) Model the material first. Bring a new item to the circle each day and model how it is used. For example, teach them how to use the geography puzzles, or the pink tower.

3) Open areas of the classroom slowly. Say, today we are going to work in the practical life area, or the math area. Observe those areas.

4) children need to come to you for a lesson on the materials. They can use the materials after getting their lesson. Until then, they can use the materials you model for them, or materials they had lessons in previously.