Montessori activities for foreign languages

Discussion in 'Montessori' started by Susana, Sep 28, 2006.

1. Susana

Susana Rookie

Sep 28, 2006

I am an English Teacher as a foreign language in Argentina, where we speak Spanish.
    I was trained as an ordinary teacher and now I am working for the first time in a Montessori school.
    I would like to receive ideas or sites to visit where I can find activities on how to teach English as a foreign language to boys and girls from 7 to 12 years old.

Thank you,

Susana

3. Yenna

Yenna Companion

Oct 4, 2006

I would think that at a Montessori school, one should present a second language just like the first language is learned. Generally speaking, we start with Spoken language, then go to writing and then reading activities follow. Spoken language means that the child is first and foremost hearing this language without having to perform (writing and reading). Lots of repetition and exploration with the language: stories, songs, poems, fingerplays, etc. The child needs a strong experiential foundation with any discipline before beginning advanced study. This is, for me, one of Dr. M's best contributions to providing a successful learning environment. There are many materials for writing and reading in the M program. The Montessorians at your school should be able to help you but the best thing to do would be to get Montessori training. There simply is just too much for one person to teach you in their spare time. The training is comprehensive and you would learn how to apply the Montessori language lessons to your age group.

4. carolep48

carolep48 Rookie

Oct 12, 2006

Teaching foreign languages in a Montessori environment

Susana:
    I am presently teaching Spanish to english speaking kids. I taught English as a second language for many years too.
    I use lots of songs WITH MOVEMENT! I have also created over 70 works for the kids to do.
    I teach Primary (3-6) and Elementary (6-12)