Money

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by FarFromHome, Jul 14, 2007.

1. FarFromHome

FarFromHome Connoisseur

Jul 14, 2007

How much money do you typically spend out of pocket before the school year starts? This is my first year and I know most people spend the most their first year. I've started going crazy with buying books and I'm about to head to the teacher's store. I don't know what my school provides yet, so I wont buy much besides things I know they wont give me.

The positive thing is that I usually feel bad about spending money, but I'm excited to buy stuff for my class. Of course next year and the following years I wont be as happy to spend the money!

3. I want to TEACH

I want to TEACH Companion

Jul 14, 2007

I'm also getting ready for my first year and so far I have spent over $500 of my own money & $275 of the school's money. It is amazing how all the things that you need add up! Go to the Good Will to get awesome book deals, as well as other stuff for next to nothing. Also, scholastic has dollar days sales & you can get lots of great stuff when this happens. If you can go in your room to take inventory before you buy things then you will probably cut down on a lot of expenses. For example, I bought a ton of books [over 100] with personal $, but then I was supplied with tons of books [some of the same ones I bought]. Hope this helps you out!! Good luck!:angel:

4. WindyCityGal606

WindyCityGal606 Enthusiast

Jul 14, 2007

I've spend about $200 and don't plan to spend any more. It's hard because you want to buy the things you know you'll need!
    Laminate all posters, job charts, individual bulletin board pieces. Even things like cute apples to put everyone's name on should be laminated so you can use a dry or we erase marker and not have to buy more in the future.
    My school lets us laminate for free thank goodness!!

5. AngelM

AngelM Rookie

Jul 14, 2007