Money for books

Discussion in 'New Teachers' started by RainbowsEnd, Sep 20, 2007.

1. RainbowsEnd

RainbowsEnd Rookie

Sep 20, 2007

I'm a first year teacher, and I've come into a classroom that does not have enough novels to go around. The town I work in is extremely poor, so there isn't really money in the budget for me to request the extra novels I NEED. I don't want to go buy them myself, but I'm feeling like that's the only option.

Any suggestions?

3. annafish

annafish Companion

Sep 20, 2007

We can request things through our parent organization. However, if your town is very poor, they may not have $ to spend. Most do take teacher request though, so it is worth looking into. I would look online to see where you could get books cheap. Maybe amazon or ebay. Good luck.

4. kidatheart

kidatheart Habitué

Sep 20, 2007

Are there any businesses in town? Go to one, ask if they would be able to help you by donating $$. Its a win-win... good publicity for them, books for you!

5. matchstickgirl

matchstickgirl Companion

Sep 20, 2007

I don't know if you had any, but I get all my books at Goodwill. They have tons of great childrens books, and in my city they have a 50% off sale every other saturday. So I end up getting great books for 25 cents! I've spent maybe a hundred dollars and have a huge library with picture books and chapter books.

6. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Sep 20, 2007

Coming up with a class set of novels is definitely a challenge. You might check to see if any of the books you want is available in a Dover reprint edition: these tend not to be very attractively packaged, but they're typically just a buck or two each. In addition, Borders and Barnes & Noble publish their own editions of classic books - not as cheaply as Dover, but still cheaply.

7. sasafras1000

sasafras1000 Rookie

Sep 21, 2007