mittens, hats and boots, oh my!

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by meglucy, Dec 1, 2010.

1. meglucy

meglucy Companion

Dec 1, 2010

I am a new kindergarten teacher (but not a new teacher--I used to teach middle school) and am seeking advice.
    We live in a snowy part of the world and my kindergartners have three outside recesses per day. That means a lot of on and off with hats, mittens, boots, snowpants and coats.
    The kids have hooks for their coats and snowpants, but the hats, mittens and boots often end up sprawled out on the floor and it's making me crazy.
    I thought about setting out baskets--one for hats, one for mittens, etc., and putting a tape line on the floor that the boots must be behind. I thought I'd see if others had better ideas. Also, is putting all hats in one basket a bad idea (i.e., lice?!).
    Any general advice on the whole coming-in-from-recess issue is welcome, too. I can't believe how much it's cutting into instructional time now that the snow has arrived!
    Thanks!
    Meg

3. gigi

gigi Groupie

Dec 1, 2010

It is a lesson in it's self isn't it? I like the tape idea for the boots, keep them behind that and hopefully in the same area of their coats. Do you have students who have the same pair of boots? I put duct tape with their names inside their boots if that happens.
    I wouldn't want to put all the hats and mittens in one basket, I agree about the lice concern. I have my little ones hang things on their hook, hat in the sleeve, mittens and gloves in the pocket. Luckily we only go outside once as we are a half day program, but you must deal with wet hats, etc all day! How about a clothesline of some type hung at their level? Would that help?
    Coming in from recess at this age is challenging, it will run smoother as the winter goes on........

4. mmswm

mmswm Moderator

Dec 1, 2010