Middle School vs Jr. High Debate

Discussion in 'Middle School / Junior High' started by Ellensmom, Nov 20, 2010.

1. Ellensmom

Ellensmom Companion

Nov 20, 2010

Hi! I am currently a 5th grade teacher working towards my middle school endorsement in LA. I have to complete a compare and contrast paper highlighting the pros and cons of a middle school set up (5 or 6-8) vs a jr.high (7-9) set up. From what I have been reading, middle school tends to be more student oriented as opposed to subject oriented. Those in favor of the jr. high set up claim the students are more prepared emotionally for the changes that come with high school if they don't start until grade 10. So, I thought I would come to you all for help. If you teach in either set up, please chime in with your :2cents:. I'd like to hear all of your thoughts, both positive and negative regarding the set up. I have only taught in private schools with the middle school set up.
    Thanks for your help.
    Angela

3. mopar

mopar Multitudinous

Nov 21, 2010

I taught in something of a mix, we were 7-8 only. We were student centered in that the team of 5 teachers meet everyday to discuss students and projects/tests/quizzes. Each student saw these 5 teachers for their core subjects. However, we subject based in that each teacher taught a different core subject: history, science, english, reading, math. The math teacher only taught math, etc.

It was nice to have the time to truly meet and discuss needs of the students and see what worked with one student or didn't work with another. It was also nice to discuss tests and project deadlines to spread them out. The students enjoyed that they all had the same teachers and could share input or homework help.