Middle School Social Studies Question

Discussion in 'Middle School / Junior High' started by renmew, Jul 30, 2015.

1. renmew

renmew Rookie

Jul 30, 2015

Hello! I am also new to middle school, and will be teaching 6-7-8th grade math and Social Studies. My question pertains to the Social Studies. I have spent the last few weeks planning and am questioning if the unit tests are really worth it. It's a private school, so this is something I can decide on my own. I have planned many hands-on projects (thanks to advice I read here), reading of primary sources, and uses of audio/video, but we do have a ton of material to cover. Since I am already doing the chapter tests, are unit tests necessary? Thanks everyone!

3. lucybelle

lucybelle Connoisseur

Jul 30, 2015

Maybe unit projects are a better idea? Investigative or inquiry based to get them thinking and using all the information they learned.

4. MLB711

MLB711 Comrade

Jul 30, 2015

I do unit tests in lieu of chapter tests. If there's a lot of material in a chapter then I'll have a chapter "quest" which is typically worth 40-60 points. My quizzes are usually 15-30 points. I also teach at a private (Catholic) school and I feel like my parents would be questioning me if we didn't have unit tests.

5. renmew

renmew Rookie

Aug 1, 2015

I'm just torn - we're doing projects along the way, although I haven't planned on a unit ending type project.

This new job follows 10 years in a Catholic school teaching second grade. I used unit tests there as my make-up/extra credit opportunity. The test was optional, and students could use it to raise a lower chapter test score. Parents loved how that worked. I liked it, because it was still the kids' own work and it forced them to restudy all the info again, at home and on their own time.