Middle School Science Teacher Alternate Route

Discussion in 'General Education' started by scienceanddogs37, May 14, 2020.

1. scienceanddogs37

scienceanddogs37 New Member

May 14, 2020

Hey there,

I am from NJ and currently enrolled in my 50 hour teacher prep for my alternate route program. I have my BS in Marine Biology and I am looking to become a Middle School Science teacher. I had a quick question about what Praxis tests to take in order to (possibly) have a job by the Fall. I originally wanted to take the General Science Content (5435) and Biology Content (5235) to get certified in K-12 Biology. But, I graduated 7 years ago so would definitely need to brush up on some topics and I'm unsure if that is realistic in order to start applying for jobs for the Fall. Is it smart to just focus on taking the Middle School Science (5440) and Elementary Ed Multiple Subjects (5001)? I know content wise this would be easier but I am afraid it won't be as easy to find a job with these certifications vs the Biology Content k-12 certification.

Also, does anyone have experience getting hired via Alternate Route in NJ? I have heard that Science/Math teachers are in demand, though of course I am skeptical because of the Alternate Route vs Standard Certification. I have been an exotic/domestic animal trainer and educator for the past 7 years in a zoo/aquarium educational show setting. I have experience working at summer camps and in classrooms, but no formal teaching experience. Thanks for all the help!

3. vickilyn

vickilyn Multitudinous

May 15, 2020