Middle School Pie Throwing Event

Discussion in 'General Education' started by SB94, May 22, 2015.

1. SB94

SB94 New Member

May 22, 2015

Has anyone ever thrown a pie in a student’s face, and if you have, did it feel at all disrespectful?

Our Junior Honor Society does a popular pie throwing fundraiser at the end of every school year. 6th, 7th, and 8th grade honor students volunteer to stand in front of the whole school and let their friends and teachers throw pies in their faces. It’s a great cause and a fun opportunity for the students to break loose and do something wild and crazy. It’s also a total mess. The students end up getting completely covered from head to foot, with whipped cream and chocolate pudding even smeared in their hair. My final memory of several very special students has been of a pie going in their face.

This year, an eighth grader who will go down as one of my all time best students has asked me if I will throw a pie in her face. I’ve never done this before and, while it’s all in fun and really not that big a deal, it still feels kind of disrespectful to do this to a student. Would anyone else feel this way?

3. Peregrin5

Peregrin5 Maven

May 22, 2015

I hate stupid activities like this. Along with the "Dunk your Teacher" or "Throw a sponge in their face".

It seems disrespectful for them to do it to me, so there is no way in heck that I'd want to demean my students that way. That's my professional opinion. I know many will disagree.

4. readingrules12

readingrules12 Aficionado

May 22, 2015