Middle School math

Discussion in 'Secondary Education Archives' started by Aliceacc, Nov 11, 2006.

1. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Nov 11, 2006

As many of you know, I'm new to 7th grade after a career with mostly Juniors and Seniors.

The funniest thing I've noticed about this age group is the expectation that the rules can be changed just because "they're confusing!"

For example, earlier in the year they saw the raised dot replacing the traditional multiplication sign. I mentioned that it would have been nice if that had been the symbol all along, but that, from this point on (and I gave them the date and the time for the sake of posterity) "x" was a variable, and a raised dot was a multiplication sign. That was at least a month ago, and they're so resistant. It's not that they keep forgetting, they just keep campaigning for me to change it back. ("Can't we just use another variable???")

They're like that in other ways too-- it's so funny to see their persistance about something that will NOT be changed to accomodate them:p :p

3. Upsadaisy

Upsadaisy Moderator

Nov 11, 2006

Aren't they funny? On this point (no pun intended), I acclimate my 5th graders to the use of the dot for multiplication so it isn't brand new to them all of a sudden. It works well. In fact, that's my general theory. Introduce new concepts and strategies in an unofficial way before they are officially taught. The top students will catch on and get a head start and the others won't be held accountable.

4. pi lover

pi lover Rookie

Nov 13, 2006