Middle school/high school comparison in MA

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by cymru3, Jan 22, 2016.

1. cymru3

cymru3 Rookie

Jan 22, 2016

I taught in the UK school system (grades 6-12) before moving here, where I've found that secondary education is mostly split up into middle school and high school. I worked as a TA at a high school for a year while I got my license over here, and am currently working in a year long position in another high school. When applying for my current jobs I applied at both middle and high schools as I was unsure which age range I wanted to teach. In the UK I much preferred the younger age range as I hated 'teaching to the test' with all the standardized testing that goes on over there with the older kids. However I've found that it isn't the case here (at least not as much) and so I'm really enjoying my classes.

In the next few months my job search for September will begin in earnest. I was wondering if anyone could talk me through the major differences between working in a middle school and a high school so that I can decide whether it's worth applying to both middle and high schools again. As I've taught younger students before I'm not concerned about that aspect...more about logistical stuff. For example in the UK I would teach 5 classes a day, all different ages and ability levels. At the high school here I've found that I'm teaching a specific course to multiple classes of the same age and ability level. At a middle school would I be teaching, for example, all grade 6 students? Would the curriculum be mine to plan, or would it be a case of tweaking a course that's already planned out? What are the expectations of kids in terms of homework, testing, etc?

I know that all schools and all districts are different, however any insights would be appreciated.

3. MLB711

MLB711 Comrade

Jan 23, 2016

I have taught both levels in different states (not MA).