Mid Year Resignation Lesson Plans

Discussion in 'General Education' started by chocolatefix2020, Dec 31, 2019.

1. chocolatefix2020

chocolatefix2020 Rookie

Dec 31, 2019

I’m a 12 year teacher and made the decision not to return the spring semester. I told my principal prior to the holiday break and submitted my resignation letter. I’d like for this to be a smooth transition since I’m resigning mid year but unsure what to do.

I teach 3 different high school courses. Should I leave lesson plans for the next 3 weeks, quarter, or semester? I’m sure it will be ideal to leave a semester worth of plans, but I really don’t want to do all that. Maybe I should just leave a few lesson plans, the course frameworks and let the sub figure it out?

Last edited: Dec 31, 2019
  3. geoteacher

geoteacher Habitué

Dec 31, 2019

I would definitely leave 2-3 weeks of plans along with the course curriculum. What about leaving plans from a prior year that may help the new person to get a feel for the courses?

chocolatefix2020 and otterpop like this.
  4. Ima Teacher

Ima Teacher Maven

Dec 31, 2019

I took over a class in March one year. It was the days before internet, pacing guides, and standardized lesson plan formats. The teacher left me a copy of the program of studies and her lesson plan books from the year.

chocolatefix2020 likes this.
  5. otterpop

otterpop Aficionado

Dec 31, 2019

I’d leave a course description (such as your syllabus that includes grading policies) with a few lesson plans that follow your typical routine and then an outline/curriculum map of the rest of the year. Give them enough to see the routine your students have been working with. Don’t lesson plan yourself to death; you are leaving and they are not paying you for weeks of planning.

If it’s easy to print out last year’s lessons, that’s a good idea. I’m not sure about your area, but in mine we often have a long term sub for a long while before they are able to hire someone for mid year changes.