Mentor/Mentee Question

Discussion in 'General Education' started by AHS_Fan, Sep 16, 2013.

1. AHS_Fan

AHS_Fan Rookie

Sep 16, 2013

I have a question regarding a mentor/mentee situation.

I'm in my 2nd year of teaching, and I have a new mentor this year.

Recently we had a conference regarding an observation my mentor did of me and a video lesson my mentor viewed of me teaching.

By and far, the observation part of the conference went well and I was in agreement with what she mentioned. However, I disagree with a lot of the the formal write-up she did of my video lesson.

Honestly, I feel my mentor marked me down for a lot of petty stuff - including:
    - My bulletin board not being changed since she was in 2 weeks ago. She never mentioned that being a problem nor are we at my school required/encouraged to changed bulletin boards frequently.
    - She marked me down because I did not say something while modeling writing to students; however, the video clearly shows that I did say that repeatedly.
    - That I used wait time to call on students. I waited about 2-3 seconds to call on students. I explained that in the past I struggled with wait time, but my mentor said wait time isn't important.

Now, with that being said, I feel some of what was mentioned was true. I do think this writing lesson needed work and I feel some of what else was suggested is good for me.

I expressed some concern over what she had written on the form and was told I could write a response, but to remember that "I'm the menor and you're the beginning teacher."

Now, I just don't know what to do. What she said isn't totally true, but I don't want to harm our relationship either nor do I want my mentor to talk about me behind my back.

I just feel super stressed out and now I don't know if I can trust my mentor, ask questions or get help. :(

3. dave1mo

dave1mo Comrade

Sep 16, 2013

How much weight is placed on a mentor's evaluation in your school/district?