Math Teachers, help a brother out

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by Aaron Nicholas, Jul 12, 2020.

?

Lowest level of college math you can take and still be COMFORTABLE teaching K-8 Math

1. None required. Probably be a chef and teach K-8 Math effectively

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. If you have an undergrad degree, then you can be effective in K-8 Math classroom

66.7%
  3. Good K-8 math teachers have taken at least college level differential calculus

33.3%
  4. All K-8 math teachers should have extensive and thorough understanding of university level math

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  5. you can be a great teacher and not a great mathematician but still be successful in K-8 math

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. Aaron Nicholas

Aaron Nicholas New Member

Jul 12, 2020

I've been teaching music for 13 years. I want to move to the regular classroom and my school placed me in middle school math. I will be credentialed as a K-8 gen. ed teacher soon, but I'm worried about my math chops. What do you think....

3. CaliforniaRPCV

CaliforniaRPCV Companion

Jul 12, 2020

What are the credentialing requirements for k-8 math in your state? Does gen ed cover it? As far as math competence in particular goes, I think the specific grade you are teaching will make a difference.

bella84 likes this.
  4. Aaron Nicholas

Jul 12, 2020

CaliforniaRPCV
    I'm in CA. So I will have multiple subject credential for K-8. I will be teaching math to 5, 6, and 7 this year. 6-8 next year.

5. CaliforniaRPCV

CaliforniaRPCV Companion

Jul 12, 2020

If the school and the state say you are qualified, who are you to argue☺

Aaron Nicholas likes this.
  6. bella84

bella84 Aficionado

Jul 12, 2020