Math for the Workplace 12

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by Dawn09, Jul 22, 2009.

1. Dawn09

Dawn09 Rookie

Jul 22, 2009

Hello!

I am a new teacher starting my first teaching term in September. I am assigned to a course, Math for the Workplace 12, that has no curriculum :S I was just wondering if anyone has any experience teaching this course, or a similar one, and could offer me any advice! I have made a general outline of topics and such but I am looking to compare with someone so I know if I am on the right track. Hoping to get a head start before September!

If anyone has anything to offer, I would great appreciate it! You can email me at ashleydwithrow@gmail.com or reply here.

Again, thanks and have a great summer! :)

Cheers,
    Ashley

3. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Jul 22, 2009

Hi Ashley, and welcome!

I've never taught that particular course; my school doesn't offer anything close.

But I'll be happy to take a look at it and give you feedback if you think it would help; this is my 24th year teaching HS math.

4. Dawn09

Dawn09 Rookie

Jul 22, 2009

Thanks!

The course is designed for students going to Community College and need basic math skills for their specific trade. I have a text book that a teacher has used in the past and I am told be based the course around this. So here is my general outline:

Unit 1: Fundamentals (2 weeks)
    - operations with whole numbers
    - rounding and estimation
    - order of operations
    - operations with integers
    - fractions (operations with and meanings of various types)
    - decimals (operations with)

Unit 2: Algebra (4 weeks)
    - language and terms
    - transfering from expressions to words
    - addition and subtraction of expressions
    - evaluating expressions
    - multiplying and dividing expressions

Unit 3: Ratio, Proportions and Percent (2 weeks)
    - definitions of ratio and proportions
    - applications of ratio and proportions (ie blueprints)