Materials for a NEW classroom...

Discussion in 'First Grade' started by BeccaK, Apr 7, 2008.

1. BeccaK

BeccaK Companion

Apr 7, 2008

I am a first year teacher and I will be getting a classroom that has never been used before. I am trying to come up with a list of materials that I will need to order/buy/make/etc. to be prepared...I will appreciate any ideas you guys can give me. Thanks again!!

3. trayums

trayums Enthusiast

Apr 7, 2008

books, books and more books (a leveled library depending on what reading program you might use as well as guided reading books)
    Baskets of some sort to organize the books
    math manipulatives (base tens, geoboards, counting bears, rulers etc.)
    Games etc. for indoor recess
    Small whiteboards for word play
    Clipboards?
    Scissors
    Something to display your schedule in
    AN EASEL for charts/morning message etc. (I suggest the Weasle-- it's awesome....)
    A carpet for meeting area
    Calendar wall materials (calendar, straws, etc.)
    You'll probably want a file cabinet
    Folders
    Markers
    Crayons
    Glue
    Construction paper
    writing paper

That's all I can muster right now but I'll probably be back... :) Hope that helps a little bit.

4. old-new teacher

old-new teacher Comrade

Apr 7, 2008

bookshelves
    conference table (kidney or horseshoe)
    desks/tables - decide which you prefer students to use
    cubby box system for each student's materials & books
    Does the room have a large whiteboard? If not, you'll want one!
    pillows, bean bags or comfy pads for reading corner
    Pull down screen for overhead projection (whiteboards tend to blind certain students with light bulb glare.
    pocket charts
    Additional counters and/or tables for computer workstations (if you will have one for students)
    A GOOD teacher's chair