Masters programs

Discussion in 'General Education' started by runsw/scissors, Mar 20, 2016.

1. runsw/scissors

runsw/scissors Phenom

Mar 20, 2016

I am not sure where to put this thread. It's not a teaching question I have, more like a student question. I am looking at masters programs as I think it is time to consider furthering my degree. I currently hold a B.S. in Elementary Ed. and have some graduate hours I have picked up here and there from workshops I've attended and from getting my ELL endorsement. I have been teaching ELL students at the elementary level for a couple years in my current district and thoroughly enjoy it. I have been surfing the websites of different schools offering Masters of Ed. programs and think something with an ELL emphasis would be a good fit, but I really don't even know what to consider or look for when trying to choose a program or school other than would the district approve it. Costs, credentials or the program, distance learning (or not), etc. What should I be paying attention to? How do I narrow down the choices to one or two? What has been your experience with different kinds of programs?

3. Backroads

Backroads Aficionado

Mar 21, 2016

I'm dabbling in this right now. Costs, credentials, and the nature of the program are all good things.

I've narrowed it down to: what interests me that will probably help in my career and what will fit into my life (the aforementioned fit into this).

4. futureteacher13

futureteacher13 Rookie

Mar 25, 2016