Masters of Education Question

Discussion in 'Other Tests' started by Amy Sessions, Sep 23, 2016.

1. Amy Sessions

Amy Sessions Rookie

Sep 23, 2016

Hi Everyone,

I wasn't sure where to place this question in the list of forums provided, but felt this was a good place to start. I am currently a grad student at Washington State University and I am in my final semester toward earning my Masters of Education degree (Yay! :) ). However, I feel like a terrible student right now for how long it has taken me to get this degree (which I feel like I don't deserve). Let me explain...

I started my EdM program back in 2011 and was on the right track to complete my course requirements. However, as time went along, I kept having health problems (anxiety and reflux that would flare from it) and I had to take some incompletes for some of my courses. I did go back and finish those courses and did well in them. I also got my first teaching job in the middle of this and did that for 2 years. I had to take a year off my grad program so I could focus on my first year teaching which I'm glad that I did. I took 2 courses during my second year teaching to continue my grad program, but just had a hard time keeping up with the grad work and teaching full-time (I taught Special Ed). So I quit my teaching job to focus on finishing my Masters, which is what I am currently pursuing. The other factor that is important to mention is that I couldn't take the courses in my grad program at any time that I wanted. I had to wait till they were offered, with some classes only being provided once a year! Waiting for classes to come around also added time onto my EdM program completion. Now that 5 years has gone by, I am finally seeing the light at the end of the EdM tunnel :).