Masters class - WWYD?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Jerseygirlteach, Feb 9, 2015.

1. Jerseygirlteach

Jerseygirlteach Groupie

Feb 9, 2015

Is it okay to not get an A in a Masters class? This is a serious question, btw. :) I've never not gotten an A in any of my teacher credential classes. As an undergrad, I only got 3 Bs - two for French and one for a science class (weather and climate). Is it shameful to get a B in a master's class?

I ask because I am currently taking a class from hell and I do not anticipate pulling out an A. I was just warned by my professor that my lack of in-text citations on a paper I submitted (citations were done in the bibliography) could constitute plagiarism so I better never do it again. :( BTW, I didn't directly quote anything. I just forgot to include the citation of my source to back up my opinion directly in the text. I only did it at the end. So, I only received about half credit for the paper. Anyway, I'm thinking that I'm not getting an A here. Because I want the classes to count towards my salary scale, I have to submit the transcript to my school after the class is completed. Should I be mortified if I don't get an A? I can't not submit the class to my district at all; it's part of the masters program and the degree is what will push me up on the salary scale.

How bad will this look if it's not an A on a masters class?

3. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Feb 9, 2015

Honestly I think that it looks kind of bad to get a B in a masters class. If you do end up with a B, make sure that it's the only one you ever get.

In my masters program (which was in my content area, not in Education), we were required to maintain a 3.9 GPA. That essentially allowed us one B over the course of the program.

4. MissCeliaB

MissCeliaB Aficionado

Feb 9, 2015