Masters and Teaching Credential in 1 year program?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by jmemoirs, Nov 19, 2014.

1. jmemoirs

jmemoirs Rookie

Nov 19, 2014

I'm in California and I just got approved as a sub in LAUSD.
    Pay is phenomenal and benefits kick in after 100 days.
    I'm excited to be working, but I want to become a permanent high school.

I have my CBEST and Bachelor's degree in Sociology and plan to pass my CSET in the next couple months.
    But this Spring, I'd like to apply to a one year program with an institution that offers a Single Subject Teaching Credential and Master's in Education at the same time.

I'm sure it's a lot of work, but I'm more than ready for the workload if I can get both in one year.

Does anybody have any recommendations on which campuses in CA offer that program?
    Any personal experiences or people you know?
    And what the tuition would look to be?

Thank you so much

3. Ms.Blank

Ms.Blank Companion

Nov 19, 2014

Have you heard of any that offer both in one year? That just sounds insane to me. I've heard of two year, but not one year (unless you're doing credential-only).

4. MissyB

MissyB Rookie

Nov 20, 2014

Chico State has/had an 18 month program to get both, I knew a few people who decided to go that route but I didn't keep in touch so I'm not sure how things have gone since graduation.

5. Linguist92021

Linguist92021 Phenom

Nov 20, 2014

I got my Masters and my credential with student teaching in 18 months. During my student teaching I wasn't taking any classes, and I know I couldn't have been able to handle it.
    Originally I wanted to do student teaching while still taking classes (I was with National University and I was taking online or evening classes), but couldn't because I didn't pass the CSET in time.