Master Schedule Favoritism

Discussion in 'High School' started by MirandaMilan, Jun 22, 2007.

1. MirandaMilan

MirandaMilan Rookie

Jun 22, 2007

I teach in a high school in which the curriculum administrator has all the power. Ever since it stopped being a department decision, I've been assigned first year algebra and WASL (our state 10th grade assessment) prep classes (for kids who haven't mastered middle school math yet.) I'd like to say it's because I'm good with them, but given the other teaching assignments, it's clear that it's a favoritism thing. Three of us have professionally expressed our dissatisfaction with the schedule in the past and been told if we don't like the way things are run, we should quit. This is not unique to our department. When a 2nd year teacher was just handed an AP class that I've been counting on for 3 years (waiting until enough students enrolled), I have to wonder whether it's time to move on. I just wonder whether this is common in other schools as well. I really like where I work, and I don't want to start over somewhere else, farther from home just because one person is a ... well, insert the unfavorable noun of your choice. Several people have also talked with the principal, but he kindly suggests we bring the issue up with the Curriculum Administrator.

Any ideas?

3. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Jun 22, 2007

As a math teacher, you can probably find a job elsewhere without too much trouble.

Have you seriously considered it?

4. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Jun 24, 2007

At my school the master schedule is also up to the curriculum admin, but he's much more open to our input. Each department chair submits a department 'wish list' for the next year's schedule. Most chairs get together with the teachers in the department and arrange this schedule as a group. Some chairs make executive decisions, often assigning the 'best' classes to themselves. It really depends on which department you're in.