Master of Education degree?

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by futureteacher13, Dec 13, 2014.

1. futureteacher13

futureteacher13 Rookie

Dec 13, 2014

Hi. I am considering getting a Master's degree after about 4 or more years of teaching experience. I am currently focusing on receiving my teacher certificate in Elementary Education K-6. My BA is in Social Science with a concentration in education. I have been working as a teacher assistant in PE for the past 5 years. I know it's going to be a challenge but I am wanting to do this in order to be an effective teacher for my future students. Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated. Thanks! :)

3. missrebecca

missrebecca Comrade

Dec 14, 2014

I have a Master's of Elementary & Special Education, but I got my teaching certification that way, so it didn't necessarily help me be a *more effective* teacher.

Honestly, I'm of the belief that actual classroom experience is the most effective way to learn to teach. Maybe some seminars and books, as well. Responsive Classroom and Love & Logic are great classroom management programs. I don't recall learning much in all my education classes that was truly useful in day-to-day teaching.

Master's programs are best for increased pay and broader job opportunities. You have to weigh that against the stress of going through grad school (especially with a teaching job... ick) and the student loans you'll rack up.

4. Ms. I

Ms. I Maven

Dec 16, 2014

I have my MA in Education w/ emphasis in Special Ed. I wouldn't necessarily say it helped me be a better teacher either. I've since switched gears to SLP (Speech-Language Pathology).

5. heyitssteph

heyitssteph Rookie

Dec 17, 2014