Management Becoming Ineffective...Help Please

Discussion in 'Middle School / Junior High' started by roxstar, Dec 15, 2011.

1. roxstar

roxstar Companion

Dec 15, 2011

So this is my first year teaching middle school (I teach 6th grade math and taught 3rd grade last year). Up until the last month my management has been pretty effective. I have been complimented for this many times by my administrators and from the coaches that are constantly in and out of the room from the state (we are an N8 title one school.) I have even felt confident posting on this site and giving others advise on their management.

So lately I feel like I am completely losing control of my 6th period class...and sometimes 2nd period. I just don't know what to do about it! I use a group incentive system where students earn time to use about once a week to play games ( always academic math games but they seem to think I am doing them a favor!) It works REALLY well with my other classes.

It is about 5 or 6 kids in both of these classes that are causing the problems and I can't seem to get them under control. They come into the room and talk instead of doing their warm-up. They talk during instruction. They blurt out during instruction which really kills me. One will shout something out, which makes another say something then another, then another... I have had private conferences, moved seats, called parents, given detention, but nothing seems to be working. For their warm-up I have started collecting it at the end of the week and giving participation grades and they still don't care. The attention they are getting from their peers for the behavior seems to be way more of an incentive than anything I have tried.

Understand that I have about zero parental support, though most of them would like to help I think if they knew how. My students are 97% Hispanic with parents who speak little to no English and work 2-3 jobs so they are not around to help reinforce at home.