Male Teachers?

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by rtay, Aug 31, 2011.

1. rtay

rtay New Member

Aug 31, 2011

Hi everyone. My name is Ryan and I'm in my last year of college and for an assignment in one of my classes I have to post a question on a teaching forum. My question, being an aspiring male elementary teacher, is what is your view(s) on male teachers in the general classroom? I've done a few practicums and the only male teachers I find are in P.E., computers or music, never in the general classroom. Thanks everyone for your help!

3. Em_Catz

Em_Catz Devotee

Aug 31, 2011

I am not a male teacher, BUT my boyfriend is. If you don't mind my two cents, I would like to say that I hope you will seriously consider teaching elementary school because there are very few men (at least in my county) at the k - 6 level. I work at a huge school that has 4 - 6 teachers per grade level and in the entire school, there are only five male teachers...actually 3 because one of them is a paraprofessional and the other teaches gym.

The kids are being underserviced because the world is not all women. Also, a lot of boys and girls may not have a strong and positive male role model in their life and need to see one while they are young.

Does that mean it'll be easy? No. Some people might scoff or look at you weird that you're a guy in elementary school. But you have to do what you feel is right

4. MrsC

MrsC Multitudinous

Aug 31, 2011

I wish we had more male teachers in our K-grade 8 school. This coming year there will be three--all classroom teachers and are wonderful. All of our students, not just boys, need to recognize that teaching is not a "woman's job".

5. pete2770

pete2770 Comrade

Aug 31, 2011

The school I'm working in has a pretty good ratio, but there are more women. I never ran the math, but it seems like there's one male to every two female teachers at the elementary level.