Male teachers: Tie or no tie?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Southernese, Feb 10, 2008.

1. Southernese

Southernese Rookie

Feb 10, 2008

I'm going to be teaching high school for the first time in the fall, after teaching college for 3 years. As a college instructor, my wardrobe has been ridiculously casual, because I'm not that much older than my students and there is no "respect gap," if you know what I mean.

But I know public school is a different animal and I'm going to have to dress more professionally. My question is, how many male teachers out there wear ties?

3. giraffe326

giraffe326 Virtuoso

Feb 10, 2008

I'm not a guy, but I graduated HS in 2001. I'd say the majority did not wear a tie. Some did, and some did on occasion. The younger male teachers usually wore either a polo shirt or a shirt and tie.

4. Mrs. R.

Mrs. R. Connoisseur

Feb 10, 2008

In my middle school, none of the men wear ties. In fact, they all wear jeans every day. When it's hot, many wear shorts. It's nuts. The women are held to much higher standards dress-wise.

5. RainStorm

RainStorm Phenom

Feb 10, 2008

My former school had only 2 male teachers. THey both wore ties each day. One didn't like it, but our admin insisted.

My current school...we only have 1 male teacher, and he teachers pe, so he can wear athletic clothes, and he does.

If it were me, I'd wear a tie the first few days, and look around at what the other male teachers at your school wear.

Sometimes, there are "unwritten rules" about such things...like in my former school.

In my current school, the admin doesn't like people wearing athletic shoes. So I don't wear them. Every school has its own culture.

6. DizneeTeachR

DizneeTeachR Virtuoso

Feb 10, 2008

I like Rainstorm's advice...maybe the first couple days. I know when I taught the "young" teacher wore the polo type shirts.