Making High School English Fun

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by aer011, Aug 23, 2011.

1. aer011

aer011 Rookie

Aug 23, 2011

Hi! I teach 9-12 English at a Disciplinary Alternative school. Currently, class sizes are very small (1-4) but will definitely grow as the year progresses.

This is my first year teaching, and the general consensus among the students seems to be that English is boring. While I disagree, I understand why they would feel that way.

I'm having a difficult time coming up with ways to make class more fun. I found a blank jeopardy power point to fill in and I plan on using that as review for grammar tests. Any ideas on what I could do to make literature, writing and grammar more fun? Any help is greatly appreciated!

3. bandnerdtx

bandnerdtx Aficionado

Aug 23, 2011

Honestly, I wouldn't worry about making it "fun" right now. You're a first year teacher, and I think the most important thing is for you to make sure that the class time is filled with *meaningful* lessons and activities. Help them understand why grammar/writing/reading is crucial to their academic and social success. Pull in stories and writing assignments that they can relate to, and they'll find English to be more palpable.

If you have a specific lesson, though, that you'd like to work on and tweak, definitely post it here so we can walk through it.

4. dgpiaffeteach

dgpiaffeteach Aficionado

Aug 23, 2011