Makes me so mad

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by allaragallagher, Nov 3, 2014.

1. allaragallagher

allaragallagher Comrade

Nov 3, 2014

So... I'm a first year teacher. I'm the fourth English teacher to take this position in the past year. They had one quit in October when she got a better job. Another got sick from "stress overload" that aggravated his diabetes and quit after 30 days. Then a long-term sub filled the position until the end of the year, got hired, but couldn't keep the job because she wasn't certified. Joy for me, right?

For the most part my classes are exceptional. The quality of work my students crank out impresses me. However, my seniors and I struggle. The woman who was previously hired still works at the school and so my students often want to go hang out with her. They also go to her for help when I give them an assignment. One student in particular hates me because he wanted her as a teacher. He questions everything I do.

When we were reading Dante's Inferno he asked me a question about an analysis question I had handed out. I didn't know the answer off the top of my head so I said I would look. He was really vocal about me not knowing what I was teaching and that he was just going to write this. I said fine, write that. Then I found the answer and told him what it was. He said if I didn't know it, he didn't need to. I was fuming.