Made a Mistake with a Disrespectful Student - Help and Advice Please

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by bkimble00, Mar 10, 2016.

1. bkimble00

bkimble00 Guest

Mar 10, 2016

Hi,

I have been a teacher for three years already, but this is my first year teaching middle school. I have had an extremely difficult time adjusting to this age group in terms of behavior issues. It didn't help that I came in halfway through the school year and had to develop a relationship with the students quickly.

I have several students who are rude and disrespectful, but one takes the cake. I have had multiple run-ins with him at this point, but nothing so severe as yesterday. While doing group work, he started calling out to me to "get him some beer" and "bring some Doritos too." Well...I saw red. As a woman, as a human being even, I didn't take well to being spoken to that way. In a moment of passion, I flipped him off.

He responded with laughter, and I partially knew he would take it as a joke or witty rapparte even before I did it.

The trouble is, now I feel awful and guilty for doing it at all. I know it was the wrong thing to do, and I now also fear he might decide to tell admin about it and I could lose my job. I have never ever done anything like that in a class before. I just lost my patience and had a bad moment.

Should I tell administration myself before he does? I don't know what to do. I don't want to lose my job. Please help.

3. Upsadaisy

Upsadaisy Moderator

Mar 10, 2016

I think I would break it to admin myself. Yes, it was crude and a huge mistake, but it happened and you can't take it back. I want to know what other consequences the offensive little squirt got!

4. Peregrin5

Peregrin5 Maven

Mar 10, 2016

Yeah. I think informing admin is best in this case.