MA or BA in Art education?

Discussion in 'Art Teachers' started by Juleskgalway, Nov 11, 2014.

1. Juleskgalway

Juleskgalway New Member

Nov 11, 2014

Hi everyone,

I am a qualified Creative Arts Therapist (Drama Therapy) and have been assisting in teaching art to elementary level students in Ireland.( I have also taught drama here). I want to teach art at elementary level in the US (where I am a citizen). My undergraduate is unrelated to art, although I have taken art classes. I wonder would it be best to go back to school for a BA or a master's to teach ? I have also worked as an ABA tutor in US schools and a TESL teacher in adult education. I appreciate any advice you have to offer.

Best regards,
    Julie

3. vickilyn

vickilyn Multitudinous

Nov 11, 2014

All I will say is that art is one of those jobs that can be very hard to land - it is one of those classes constantly going on the chopping block in budget crunches. I would give it a great deal of consideration. Perhaps ESL certification would give you a better foot in the door. I would never, however, tell someone to teach something they don't love.

4. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Nov 11, 2014

Welcome to A to Z, Julie! Galway's a lovely place.