Lunch conversations?

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by positiveautism, Oct 24, 2008.

1. positiveautism

positiveautism Comrade

Oct 24, 2008

I'm an autism support teacher, and I am going to make some conversation starter cards for my students to use at lunch. However, I realized that I really have no idea what kids talk about at lunch! :lol:

Could you all give me examples of what your students talk about during lunch? Also, could you post what grade you teach if it's not displayed by your name?

Thank you so much!

Nicole

3. swansong1

swansong1 Virtuoso

Oct 24, 2008

Could you let us know what grade level you are working with?

4. positiveautism

positiveautism Comrade

Oct 24, 2008

I work with all grade levels at our school, but I'm primarily thinking of making these for kids 3rd - 6th grade.

Thanks!

Nicole

5. Engteach13

Engteach13 Rookie

Oct 24, 2008

I think that is such a nice idea. Sorry I can't be of help to you though. I have cafe duty for about 150 freshman...you don't want to know what they talk about at lunch. :blush:

6. MrsC

MrsC Multitudinous

Oct 24, 2008

TV shows
    Movies
    Video games
    Homework
    Upcoming trips/events
    Friends
    Pets
    Weather (at least they did when it snowed all day on Tuesday!)

7. Yank7

Yank7 Habitué

Oct 24, 2008

Last year I was given a note by the school lunch supervisor being passed around by the girls in my fifth grade gifted class.It was a list of the girl's name and the name of the boy they would like to sleep with.Maybe it is not a good idea to use what they talk about at lunch for your ideas.
    I think I might keep it general such as Their favorite school subject and why. What they like to do when they are not in school.What they would do if they won a million dollars.(I hope they don't decide to invest it in the stock market) Their favorite meal in the cafeteria and why they like it. TV shows and movies and so on.It sounds like a good idea,let us know how it goes.

8. Jem