LS kids need severe multiplcation help

Discussion in 'Special Education' started by blondierox4u, Dec 14, 2006.

1. blondierox4u

blondierox4u Rookie

Dec 14, 2006

I teach Learning support which is pretty much a mixture of Learning disabilities and emotional disabilities. I teach Math and there are about 5 different Math groups I teach and I would say I have about 6 kids who struggle with multiplcation facts. They are 6-7th graders working on 4-5th grade math levels. I give them practice everyday usually 1st 15 minutes of class, we do flash cards, I have them write them and they are still havign a hard time with the higher numbers like 6-7-8- 9 they know bc of the hand trick but I'm trying to work on division with them and the understand the concept but get the wrong answer bc they don't know their facts. I am a 1st yr teacher with not a lot of resources, can anyone give me any good ideas, websites, books etc?? to help speed up this learning process.

3. Upsadaisy

Upsadaisy Moderator

Dec 14, 2006

I tutor lots of middle schoolers who still haven't mastered multiplication. For most, it is a memory problem, not a concept problem. The only thing you can do is drill, drill, drill. Play war with number cards. Use 100s boards sometimes. I usually drill without number cards and use repetition like this: I say, '6x7 =?', kid answers, I repeat, '6x7 = 42, what is 6x7?' Kid answers. Then I add another troublesome fact. 7x8 = ?, kid answers, I respond. Then I switch back and forth between the two facts for a while, finally adding in a third troublesome fact. Then repeat the process.

4. teresaglass

teresaglass Groupie

Jan 6, 2007

Show the kids that multiplecation is adding the same number a certain number of times. you also maight get books that help you line up the numbers for two and three digit mulitplecation. also give them shortcuts that help them remeber for example multiples of nine add up to nine. Good luck. Terry G.

5. hescollin

hescollin Fanatic

Jan 6, 2007