Low SES community

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Smhope20, Aug 4, 2011.

1. Smhope20

Smhope20 New Member

Aug 4, 2011

I am a first year teacher and will be teaching either elementary special education in a self-contained classroom or high school resource/inclusion. I was raised in a bigger city in another part of the country, and now will be teaching in the small, rural, high poverty community where I have lived for a few years now. I am in the middle of reading "A Framework for Understanding Poverty," and it has enlightened me a lot, but I am looking for any practical advice I can get on teaching students living in generational poverty and communicating with parents as well. I want to come across as nothing but loving and respectful, but I feel like I need some tips from someone with experience in this situation so I can put my foot in my mouth as little as possible. Thanks for all your help!

3. WaterfallLady

WaterfallLady Enthusiast

Aug 4, 2011

I'm going to be honest- Framework for Understanding Poverty is great but most of it is based on generalizations that I found were not accurate for the school community I was teaching in. The best thing to do is be supportive, and don't expect any parent involvement or them sending in supplies. You will be pleasantly surprised. Don't be upset if parents don't show up at conferences, they are probably working. If a field trip requires money, give them a month's notice. Parents may be unable to help their children with homework due to education levels or working time. It would sometimes take forever to get signed papers because mom got home when the kids were sleeping and kids left while mom was sleeping. That was urban poor.

When I taught in a more rural community, I had to keep in mind that a lot of kids had farm chores in the afternoon. Sometimes their parents had low expectations for their children's academics because they just want their kid to be able to take over the farm.