Low pay & no retirement?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by missrebecca, Apr 25, 2015.

1. missrebecca

missrebecca Comrade

Apr 25, 2015

My charter has no retirement benefits. No matching, no savings, nothing. Anyone else have a similar setup? How do you feel about it?

I feel like my current job is not a long-term career option for this reason, as well as the fact that the pay is very low (I have a master's degree and am earning less than I would with a bachelor's degree at a public school).

My old public school had an amazing retirement plan, and so do most schools in my area, but I'm terrified to go back to working in that environment after my last experience. I think I'd rather just leave teaching altogether. If I stay long-term, I guess I'd have to look into private retirement plans...

Any opinions? Would you stay at a school with lower than average pay and no retirement?

3. readingrules12

readingrules12 Aficionado

Apr 25, 2015

Interesting that your charter school doesn't have a retirement plan. I wonder if anyone out there knows if this is true in general of charter schools.

I would consider moving to a good public school district where you would enjoy teaching. You could save $$$ yourself and put up to $5500/year in a ROTH IRA that would be tax free when you retire. This of course is much more costly than if the state of Arizona was paying for your retirement.

4. yellowdaisies

yellowdaisies Fanatic

Apr 25, 2015

I think like everything else with charters, it varies by state. Every charter I've heard of in CA is part of CalSTRS - the same retirement system as public school teacher. I'm pretty sure they have to be.

My charter does pay less than other districts in the area - BUT - it's small. We make comparable pay to tiny districts, but we make less or much less than the big districts. So I think it's more about the size than the charter vs. public thing.