Love my job but Burned out! Need motivation!

Discussion in 'Special Education' started by anewstart101, Apr 1, 2011.

1. anewstart101

anewstart101 Cohort

Apr 1, 2011

This is my first year in this position -- I love the students -- every things about it --------

The commute is depressing ---- with jobs in teaching hard to come by ----

I can't quit ---- the commute is too much I am exhausted ---- day in and day out ----

It is me and my kid.

I am okay once I get to work -----------

but am dead tired driving home in traffic -----

being a parent of a child with a severe disability -- the drive just makes me sad ---- :blush::(:confused: and I have so much to do when I get home

I am not interested in moving to the area ----- due to services for my child --

How do I get motivated -- to keep doing this --

the thought of another year driving is devastating -- I do it for my son -- but it makes me cry --- I am gaining weight --- and need to make a change for that --

I think I am PMSing.

Thanks in advance for motivation

3. mopar

mopar Multitudinous

Apr 2, 2011

But some motivational or calming music for the car.

Maybe try having your students submit things on tape or CD so that you can listen to them in the car.

Is there a closer area that would still provide services for your son?

Is there a train or bus that you could take?

4. CanukTeach

CanukTeach Companion

Apr 2, 2011

Hi A New Start,

First of all, I totally understand! My first year teaching I was driving an hour (and I enjoy driving and I didn't have a child) and I was just tired all the time. At least once a week I would fall asleep the moment I got home. Sometimes I still do that 7 years later.

For what it is worth, here are a few ideas: