Lots of wardrobe questions!! Need help!

Discussion in 'Teacher Time Out' started by socaligirl, Mar 23, 2009.

1. socaligirl

socaligirl Rookie

Mar 23, 2009

I am a student, still working on pre-req's, but will be starting observations and student teaching before the year is up. Since I paid for my entire education, my parents want to give me money to purchase some "teacher" clothing. I have absolutely NO clothes appropriate for teaching, as my current job requires a uniform and the rest of my wardrobe consists of flip-flops, jeans, and t-shirts. I need a lot of help!! :help: So my questions are:

1: If I'm starting from scratch, how many pairs of pants, shirts, cardigans (I always wear a shirt and a layer on top), shoes, etc. do you think I need to get me through my year?

2: Where do you shop? Since these clothes are going to just be for teaching, I don't know that I want to spend too much, when I will just be wearing different clothes right after work and on weekends.

3: Is there a roundabout figure that you can predict I will need to invest in this new wardrobe? My parents are already harping me for a number even though they just put this offer on the table last week! :rolleyes: Which is just adding to the stress of trying to figure out all of this in the first place.

If anyone can give me ANY advice I will be eternally grateful.

Thank you!!! :)

Oh! And I will be in grades 1-5 if that helps at all.

3. FarFromHome

FarFromHome Connoisseur

Mar 23, 2009

I love New York and Co. for teacher clothes. They're really cheap if you buy off the sale racks, and their clothing looks really nice. A lot of times they will have pants, suit jackets, shirts, and skirts on sale for around $7 each! I also buy a lot of things at J.C. Penneys.

When I started student teaching, my mom bought me a lot of clothes at New York and Co. I think she spent about $350 on me-but I think I bought all or almost all full price items. I don't remember how many things I got.

4. Ms. I