Losing my voice

Discussion in 'General Education' started by 4capulina, Jul 25, 2011.

1. 4capulina

4capulina Rookie

Jul 25, 2011

I've been teaching for two years now (10th grade world history) & I am finding that my voice often gets tired during the day. I don't know if I'm talking too much or too loud or what, but my vocal chords ache sometimes after school & even during school. I teach small clases at a privare school.... Usually clases of 16 or so in a small room... Anybody got some advice for me?:dizzy:

3. KatherineParr

KatherineParr Comrade

Jul 25, 2011

My throat goes through periods like that, too. I think in history we tend to do a lot of storytelling and guiding of discussion and it's just a strain.

For me, staying hydrated is a battle against needing to get to the teachers' restroom. With five sections...well you know. I drink water and coffee during the day, but not too much.

My doctor says that it's possible that the problem is my tonsils. I said, "gee, a tonsillectomy at 40 sounds swell" and she said, "yes." Ouch.

Soo...I feel your pain but don't really have any advice. Hydrate, try to talk less. Sorry.

4. Ron6103

Ron6103 Habitué

Jul 25, 2011

I live with my water bottle.

5. Croissant

Croissant Comrade

Jul 25, 2011

I had that problem during the first half of my student teaching. I think it was the classroom because when I moved down the hall I didn't have that problem. I had a teacher in high school who had no voice for a few days. She typed everything out in a word document projected onto the board and was very successful with it. I think it was the most involved we were all year long. She chose people to read what she typed in her voice etc. It wouldn't work forever, but if you were really in a bind it would probably work once or twice.

6. MissAnt

MissAnt Comrade

Jul 25, 2011