Looping Cons?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by FourSquare, Jun 1, 2013.

1. FourSquare

FourSquare Fanatic

Jun 1, 2013

Officially received word that I am looping with my class to 7th grade. :clap: This was my first choice, so I'm excited.

I can think of a bazillion reasons why looping is a good thing, but are there any cons I should watch out for? I have never done it before so I want to be weary of any pitfalls in August. :unsure: The only thing I can really think of is not being able to reuse anything.

3. Tyler B.

Tyler B. Groupie

Jun 2, 2013

In my experience, the biggest con is that you need to learn a new curriculum. DO reuse all your management techniques and abandon anything ineffective. You can tell your 7th graders that "This is how it's done in 7th grade."

By November, I found myself nearly a month advanced into the curriculum due to the time savings in teaching routines.

I predict you and your students will have a wonderful 7th grade year.

4. KinderCowgirl

KinderCowgirl Phenom

Jun 2, 2013

The only one I ran into was that the students are very comfortable with you. So I when I did it I had to change up my management program a bit-otherwise they just kept testing me. My kids were very bored with our routines (although mine were much younger)-so I gave those a tweak as well.

5. Rhesus

Rhesus Comrade

Jun 2, 2013

I am the only teacher of my subject, so I have the same students continuously for grades 9-12. That's sort of like looping, I guess.

The biggest con for me is that they start to feel too comfortable and familiar, and this requires some reinforcement that I am their teacher and not their pal. That said, I love having them repeatedly.

6. Blkjacq

Blkjacq Companion

Jun 2, 2013