Looking for some input!

Discussion in 'Early Childhood Education Archives' started by 4Lisa, Apr 17, 2006.

1. 4Lisa

4Lisa Rookie

Apr 17, 2006

I am asking for a little help. I am a pre-k teacher with a class of 14 3-5 year olds. We have one child that needs help and I don't know where to start. The child will be entering Kindergarten in the fall, and has been with us for probably about a year and a half. He has always had anger issues. He is so funny and talkative but in a split second and sometimes without anything provoking he snaps and will scream and yell and break into screaming fits. These are not like temper tantrums, they are fits of rage and anger!! Sometimes he becomes violent. It is very scary and we have always dealt with it, and even got the child into a 15 week play therapy program. Now within the last 6 weeks or so, I have seen an increase with the outbursts. When he has them, he pulls away from any attempts to comfort him, which is fine, because I know that some children need their own space when they are upset. He is a loner child and doesn't really play with others really prefers to be alone. He does attempt to initiate play once and a while, but will withdraw from the group within a short time. Recently it has gotten worse. As he is becoming upset more often, he now will yell that he is going to "kill himself" and says that "I am so F***ing stupid!!" It is so disturbing, because he uses it all in context and it is obvious that someone tells him that. We are having trouble now with other children saying they are gonna kill each other and it is out of hand. I have addressed the issues with all of the parents in the room and all are pretty well understanding. But I don't like hearing my preschoolers saying things like that to anyone. We are also having issues with some of the children that have now become afraid of the child, because the outbursts are sooo loud and frequent. We never know what is going to come out of the child's mouth, or when an