Looking for help incorporating music into the eighth grade curriculum

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by glen, Jun 13, 2008.

1. glen

glen Companion

Jun 13, 2008

Our music program for next year has been cut. The principal has asked that each teacher find a way to incorporate music into their weekly classes (we are a very small Catholic school- one homeroom/grade). As the eighth grade homeroom teacher, finding a way to do this will be my responsibility for my homeroom. I have them for Science, Math, History, and Literature. I'm thinking that literature would probably be the most logical place to bring this in, perhaps using musicals? The principal is open to any way that each teacher decides to do this. Any ideas for a musically challenged middle school teacher??? I have a very small class next year (currently expecting 8 students) so creative ideas can work!

Last edited: Jun 13, 2008
  3. Higgy

Higgy New Member

Jun 13, 2008

Just some ideas

I'm no music pro either, but here's some ideas....

Science
    - Have them create a music video/write a song about certain concepts (maybe even 1 per unit). I'm not sure if you're familiar with Bill Nye the Science Guy- but in every episode he had a music video about the concept. It was really neat- and might help them remember some key concepts.

Math
    -Similar idea to math- I can't think of anything else.

History
    -Listen to songs from the period that you're studying. Music was often important in history for many different reasons (influencing ideas, encouraging work, etc.). I'm a history teacher too, and I always try and integrate at least one class to the music of the time, and another to the art of the time.

Literature
    -Your idea about musicals is cool, I think I would enjoy that.
    -Perhaps have them analyse songs as they would a poem?

I would try and integrate it into as many curriculum areas as possible. The more the better, really.

Hope this helps!

4. mmswm

mmswm Moderator