Looking for guidance and direction

Discussion in 'General Education Archives' started by Rdgtutor, Oct 22, 2005.

1. Rdgtutor

Rdgtutor Rookie

Oct 22, 2005

Hi fellow teachers;
    I'm looking for some guidance and suggestions as I no longer know in what direction to turn. I'm from New Hampshire and I hold an Elementary Cert. in both NH and MA. I am also certified as an Orton-Gillingham Remedial Reading Instructor. Here is my dilemma: I only have classroom experience teaching Kindergarten in a private school. I have been tutoring reading in a public school environment for the last three years. Last year I applied for a regular classroom position in the school where I was tutoring. Not only was I not hired for one of the five openings in one of the classrooms, but my contract for the reading position was not renewed for this year. I was told that I do not have the experience that is required in either position. This seems to be an issue wherever I go. In my most recent position I was hired as an dilemma Instructor, but I was used as a reading tutor as well. I'm being told that if I want to pursue an elementary education classroom position that I should consider taking the Praxis 11 exam. I received my degree in 1979 in MA and only recently got recertified in MA and took the Praxis 1 in NH for certification in NH. I'm not sure what direction to take because I feel that even if I take the Praxis 11 and pass I still won't be considered for a position because of my lack of experience and age. Help, does anyone have any suggestions. I would really appreciate them right now. Thanks for your time...

Rdgtutor :confused:

3. cinmcl61

cinmcl61 Rookie

Oct 22, 2005